Donald Trump signs a visa-free travel policy for the Arab World, 7 countries excluded

The United States President, Donald Trump has on Thursday signed an executive order to allow the Arab World travel to the United States without visas but excluded seven countries which may be banned in obtaining visas to enter the United States.

The new order, which has been described as “shocking”, serving as a change in visa policy for nationals of the Arab World traveling to the United States, would permit them stay in the U.S for a maximum period of 180 days for Tourism or Business purposes only. Stay over 180 days would therefore require a visa.

Trump says this measure is to strengthen trade between the United States and the entire Arab World. “The Arab World is my greatest bet for Trade and Economic growth” – Trump said.

A source at the White House has hinted that Trump may revoke Australia’s opportunity of traveling to the United States without visas after cancelling all trade deals with the country.

Excluded in the Policy are Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria or Yemen

Countries to enjoy this policy are Algeria, Bahrain, the Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Morocco, Mauritania, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates.

Allowing the Arab World to the United States freely is not the only order signed into force by Trump since assuming office. He has signed five new executive orders – including one to expedite environmental review and approval of high-priority infrastructure projects.

President Donald Trump signed executive orders to advance the construction of the controversial Dakota Access and Keystone XL pipelines.

He also signed an executive order on Monday barring federal funds from organizations that promote abortion around the world, including the International Planned Parenthood Federation, in what activists say is the president’s first major pro-life action while in office.

No more funds for Abortion-promotion organizations

The policy, known as the Mexico City Policy or the Global Gag Rule, was first ushered in under Ronald Reagan and bars federal funds from going to foreign organizations that perform abortions overseas or lobby for the practice’s legalization in other countries.

He has formally withdrew the United States from the Trans-Pacific Partnership trade deal on Monday, distancing America from its Asian allies as China’s influence in the region rises.

Fulfilling a campaign pledge to end American involvement in the 2015 pact, Trump signed an executive order in the Oval Office pulling the United States from the 12-nation TPP.


President Donald Trump signed a revised travel ban on Monday that will temporarily halt entry to the US for people from six Muslim-majority nations who are seeking new visas, though allowing those with current visas to travel freely.

The new Trump directive aims to address legal issues with the original order, which caused confusion at airports, sparked protests around the country and was ultimately blocked by federal courts, according to a fact sheet obtained in advance by The Associated Press.

The revised order is narrower and specifies that a 90-day ban on people from Sudan, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia and Yemen does not apply to those who already have valid visas. The White House also dropped Iraq from the list of targeted countries after pressure from the Pentagon and State Department, which had urged the White House to reconsider in view of Iraq’s role in fighting Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (Isil).

The fact sheet cites negotiations that resulted in Iraq agreeing to “increase cooperation with the US government on the vetting of its citizens applying for a visa to travel to the United States”. An Iraqi spokesman said the change marks a “positive step” and shows the countries have a “real partnership”.

error: Copy the URL/Link